Contact Information
Library Hours
Monday - Thursday: 8:00am-6:00pm
Friday: 8:00am-1:30pm
Saturday & Sunday: Closed
Contact the Library
Email: library@octech.edu
Phone: (803) 535-1262
Location: Building B, 2nd Floor
For free research consultations with a librarian, use this link:
or contact the library at library@octech.edu
The Research Process
Use the tabs below to work your way through the research process.
Introduction to Academic Research at OCtech Library
Research Orientation: Beginning- How to start a research paper.
In this video, Professor Pete Carr goes through his algorithm to write a research paper over a weekend.
Help With the Research Process
- Research Process ExerciseActivity to try out some research techniques
- Writer's Reference Center This link opens in a new windowTools on how to write and research effectively, including a step-by-step guide to writing a good essay.
Using Outlines to Organize Your Research
Outlines help you organize your ideas and how you plan to use resources
The below video provides information on how to properly organize your outline. You do not need to use every step- for example, shorter papers may simply adhere to the primary "I, II, III" . The longer and more detailed the paper, the more detailed and elaborate the outline.
Formal Outline. (2014, May 11). https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CZ57Jh1xdRw
- Types of OutlinesMore detailed information from Purdue OWL on outlines and outline types.
How to Use the Google Docs Outline Tool. (2016, March 23). https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zphxjzGgkmw&feature=youtu.be&ab_channel=TheGooru
- Sample paper in APA format courtesy of Purdue OWLLab, P. W. (n.d.). APA Sample Paper // Purdue Writing Lab. Purdue Writing Lab. Retrieved September 10, 2020, from https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/research_and_citation/apa_style/apa_formatting_and_style_guide/apa_sample_paper.html
...This is provided because it provides excellent examples of in-text citations along with final bibliographies. - Example of Outline Format (As auto-formatted by Google Docs)Google Docs does a relatively good job of auto-formatting outlines. Here is an example with some explanation added of how to work with an outline.
- Example of an Outline Using Sample Annotated BibliographyTo get an idea of how useful and how much easier they make your life, try looking at this next to the sample annotated bibliography (that sample is at the bottom of the "Bibliography" tab). You can see how much easier it is to make sense of a large number of concepts and to organize them for an academic paper using these tools.
Introduction to an Annotated Bibliography
Annotated Bibliographies help you keep your resources organized so that you can go back and find them, work out the citation early in the process, and determine how you plan to use the resource.
Using Zotero to Create an Annotated Bibliography
Zotero is one of the many free resources available to create an annotated bibliography.
Center for History and New Media. (n.d.). Zotero Quick Start Guide. http://zotero.org/support/quick_start_guide
- Bibliography Software InstructionsInstructions on how to download a free software that will help with organizing and creating your annotated bibliographies.
- Zotero Chrome ExtensionThis Chrome extension will create a small icon next to your the other extensions in your chrome window after the URL bar. This links to your online Zotero library, and when you click on it will save whatever web page or resource your browser is on to that library. Just be sure to test it so you know you are logged in and everything is working properly before beginning your research!
- Sample Annotated BibliographyThis is just a sample of an annotated bibliography. To make this, all I did (in theory- these are not real sources) was take notes as I read material, and had a properly formatted APA bibliography. I then added the notes I had taken for each article as bullet points. This makes organizing research esp. easy as it helps visualize the best places to refer to materials in your paper/presentation.
What are your hours?
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday: 8:00 am - 1:30 pm
Saturday & Sunday: Closed
How do I get help when I'm at home/off campus?
We have a live chat option during our regular library operating hours. This will put you in touch directly with a librarian. While this is generally available during our normal hours, some slight exceptions may occur. If we are not available, you will know right away because instead of the "Ask A Librarian" box, it will instead say "FAQ". As long as we are live, we usually respond fairly rapidly (within a minute or two) to questions, with the rare exception happening when the library is particularly busy.
We also have a "Zoom Drop In" which is an online room that is available Monday-Thursday 1 p.m.- 2 p.m. The link to this room is right here. If you already have zoom downloaded, and just need the meeting number it is: 96066191635 ...Just remember it is only open during the 2-4 slot!
What is a Research Consultation?
A research consultation is simply a one-on-one reference interview with a librarian. They are generally pretty informal, and there is no pressure- you can be at any stage of your research, just starting or nearly finishing, we're here to help! We can assist you with finding resources, showing you additional searching strategies, and generally help you navigate our databases. We are always happy to help!
How do I make a Research Consultation?
Setting up a research consultation is easy- you can simply use this link to fill out a research consultation form: Research Consultation Form, or you can email either of us directly (Cassidy: cartercc@octech.edu, Jason: reedjt@octech.edu). We are happy to work with you to find a time and method (in person or virtual) that will work for everyone involved.
How long can I borrow books for?
Books checkout for 4 weeks and books can be renewed, if not needed by another patron.
How many books can I borrow?
Current students can borrow, as many books as they need.
Can I borrow other materials (such as DVDs)?
DVDs circulate for one week. Students may borrow up to 5 DVDs at one time. Late fees will be forgiven, provided item is returned in good condition, and there have been no outstanding requests from other students to borrow the item(s).
Can I print from the library?
Yes. Printing costs .10 a page (.20 for back and front). Be sure to stop by the bookstore with your student ID to add money to your printing account.
What are the Overdue fees?
$.10/day per item~ As long as item is returned in good condition, fines will be reduced, and as long as the item has not been requested by another patron, will be forgiven.