LibGuides: Career Resources: Career Resources

Career Resources

Use the tabs below to find resources related to your career goals.

Ferguson's Career Tips: 5 Strategies to Ace the Job Search (video)

The websites below are great places to search for jobs.

Apprenticeship Finder (USA Government website)
This website lets you look for apprenticeships in a variety of ways, including by state and/or occupation. You can check for certifications, and if it will help lead you to getting a certification.
CareerBuilder
Online job search for employees and employers looking to hire.
CareerOneStop
Excellent resource for help in laying out a job search strategy, learning about the 50 largest employers in South Carolina, and much more.
Glassdoor
This is a site that shows how current and past employees felt about their former place of work. If undecided/unsure about an offer, take a look here and see if the institution is listed, and what current/previous employees have to say about the work environment.
Indeed Jobs
Widely used, this is an intuitive site that has plenty of searching options so you can narrow you employment hunt based on location, education, etc.
Job Hunting and Work History Log
Original document by Muse.com, modified by Robin Pesko
CC Attribution (BY) & (SA)
~
This is a tool that can be used and individualized to track job hunting, keep records of work history, and generally maintain resume content in a platform that makes it easy to copy/paste information into any required online application. If you are unfamiliar with Google Sheets, don't forget to navigate the tabs at the bottom of the page- you will find space for not just tracking jobs you've applied to, but additional sheets for information such as links to examples of work, a page for reference information, and much more. Please contact OCtech Electronic Resources Librarian Robin Pesko with any questions (peskorm@octech.edu)
more...less...
Share Alike (SA)
If you remix, transform or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.
Attribution (BY)
You must give appropriate credit, provide a link to the license, and indicate if changes were made. You may do so in any reasonable manner, but not in any way that suggests the licensor endorses you or your use.
jobs.sc.gov
Search and apply for SC state jobs.
Monster
A global online employment solution for people seeking jobs and the employers seeking job candidates
SC Works
A statewide career center system, providing services for job seekers and employers.
South Carolina Jobs and Employment by City
Browse for job listings in SC's city and metro areas
South Carolina State Jobs
Find open state government jobs and agencies which aid workforce development.
USA Jobs
The Federal Government offers unique hiring paths to help hire individuals that represent our diverse society. Learn more about each hiring path and your eligibility.
WorkSC
A comprehensive job seeker and workforce skill building resource for South Carolina’s libraries, government agencies, and citizens.

Use these databases and websites to learn more about a career.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Features expertly researched, detailed content on more than 140 industries and more than 1,000 professions, with current information on earnings, employment trends, job requirements, and essential skills. Learn more about a career or take a career interest assessment to find a career that might suit you.

Occupational Outlook Handbook (Department of Labor, U.S.)
This should be the first stop for those seriously considering a specific career path. The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) includes crucial information, including a ten-year job outlook (the expected number of jobs that will be available in the next ten years), information on what you need to do to enter a specific profession as well as what professions you are qualified for. It provides in-depth info on general work-environment, including state-specific job information, including average pay and the minimum/maximum incomes within the profession.
U.S. Department of Labor
This site includes a massive amount of information including everything from statistics such as the national unemployment to work regulations to hiring programs aimed at particular demographics (for example, an organization that specifically helps veterans find jobs).
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Provides a ‘snapshot’ of national data obtained from different BLS surveys and programs including state, county, and metropolitan area data.

Resume Basics (video)

Use the websites below to get help with your resume.

South Carolina Works- Orangeburg
Phone: 803-534-3336

Free Internet and resume writer access computers are on site. Veteran representatives are available at this location. Representatives are available with an appointment. Full range of jobseeker and employer services. Employment Security Commission operated Center
more...less...
Hours of Operation: M-F 8:30am - 5:00pm
Located at:
1804 Joe Jeffords Hwy
Orangeburg, SC 29116
CareerOneStop Resume Guide
A step-by-step walk-through of the entire resume process.
TheMuse
This site is an excellent resource for everything from matching your interests to careers to job search websites to resume tips and practice interview questions.
Indeed.com- Resumes and Cover Letters
When navigating a job search site, it's easy to overlook some of the best resources these sites offer. Indeed in particular has excellent interview and resume insights.
From the website "H Loom"
Free templates that are already formatted for computer programs such as Microsoft Office, Google Docs, Open Office, etc.

4 Body Language Tips For Your Next Interview (video)

Job Interview Tips & Resources

Interviewing for a new job can be extremely nerve-racking, and in an interview situation, you have to assume that you're only going to get one chance to make a first impression- so be sure to make a good one. Some tips to keep in mind:

Dress Appropriately.
It doesn't matter if you're interviewing for a job for which you will be given a uniform or if you will be getting dirty on the job- dressing well shows that you are not taking the interview for granted. Showing up in sweatpants, torn denim, etc. not only reflects a lack of preparation on your part; frequently it can be taken as a sign of disrespect, torpedoing your chance to land the job before you even get started.

Come to the interview prepared
Have multiple copies of your resume on hand, and reference contact information. You may be getting interviewed by more than one person, and that attention-to-detail in preparation will be appreciated.

Research the company and the position
If you have done your research properly, you should have questions about the job and/or company. Show that you are interested and curious about the position- this can go a long way towards making a good impression.

Scrub Social Media
A potential employer will frequently look up job candidates online. Be sure that your digital impression is equally positive as your physical impression. Remove or change the view settings of anything you wouldn't want a future employer to see- especially anything graphic/political.

Review all documents that you have shared
This includes your resume, transcript, and anything else requested by the potential employer. Reflect on your past experiences, what you have learned, any difficulties you had to overcome, etc. Make bullet notes for yourself about particular skills or anecdotes you took away from classes/previous work experience. This way you will be prepared for questions about your work history without sounding like you are reading a memorized script.

Use these websites and videos to ace your interview

Indeed.com- Interviewing
When navigating a job search site, it's easy to overlook some of the best resources these sites offer. Indeed in particular has excellent interview and resume insights.
3 Questions Every Candidate Should Ask In An Interview
Interviews are two-way streets. You're there to answer a prospective employer's questions so they get to know you, but you're also there to get to know them. Be prepared to ask questions to make sure the organization is someplace you would like to work.
4 Essential Items To Bring To An Interview
There's much more to a successful interview than showing up. You have to be prepared—and you have to bring along the tools that can help you make the right impression and succeed.
4 Things To Never Say In An Interview
Interviewing can be a delicate process. Employers want you to succeed, but their primary goal is to find someone who fits their company and brings the necessary skills. It doesn't take much to create a bad impression, Here are some "red flags" employers listen for during an interview. Avoid these if you want an offer.
How To Answer: "What Is Your Weakness"
It's a commonly asked interview question: "What is your weakness?" Employers ask it for insight into how you respond to such a question as well as the substance of your answer. Here are some tips for effective replies.