Use the tabs below to find resources for your accounting papers and projects.
These databases are most useful for accounting topics.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides resources covering business and management topics, including accounting, banking, economics, finance, international trade, marketing, management information systems, and operations management.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new window75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering the US
Try these databases if you are not sure where to start
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. And Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, and much more. Find speedy, simple answers and authoritative, in-depth articles.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowA collection of eBooks ranging across all academic subjects. eBook Central gives students and faculty seamless and immediate access to the eBooks they need.
- EBSCO Academic Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of multidisciplinary eBooks representing a wide range of academic subjects.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowStreaming service providing academic, career-related, and educational videos. Contains a large collection of videos covering a wide range of academic topics.
- Hoopla This link opens in a new windowHoopla is allows you to borrow movies, music, audiobooks, eBooks, comics and TV shows to enjoy on your computer, tablet, or phone – and even your TV!
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowA resource which covers current controversial social subjects, with articles that offer informed, differing views on both sides of each issue. Includes, reference articles, infographics, news articles, images, video, audio, and more.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowA full-text database that offers students with a series of comprehensive essays with point and counterpoint arguments related to current issues in the news.
- SIRS (Social Issues Resources) This link opens in a new windowUse SIRS Issues Researcher to locate articles about controversial issues selected from newspapers, magazines, journals, and government publications. It features information about a variety of social, scientific, health, historic, economic, business, and political issues from around the world.
Search here for print and electronic resources
All Databases (A-Z)
A-Z list of all library databases, available both on and off campus.
About the Library
An introduction to the library and the resources it provides.
Student Success Center
Access to free tutors and academic assistance.
Here are some websites you may useful for your topic.
Here is a list of professional organizations business and accounting professionals may find useful.
- Accountant-Lawyer Alliance (ALA) is a member association built to overcome the obstacles of modern accountants and legal professionals.
- American Accounting Association (AAA) is the largest community of accountants in academia.
- American Association of Finance & Accounting (AAFA) is an alliance of executive search firms specializing in the recruiting and staffing of finance and accounting professionals.
- American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) is the national, professional organization for all CPAs.
- American Payroll Association (APA) is the nation’s leader in payroll education, publications, and training for payroll professionals.
- American Society of Cost Segregation Professionals (ASCSP) establishes a measurable standard by which cost segregation consultants can be evaluated.
- Association of Accountants and Financial Professionals in Business (IMA) is the worldwide association of accountants and financial professionals working in business.
- National Association of Certified Public Bookkeepers (NACPB) serves bookkeepers providing bookkeeping services to the public.
- National Association of Estate Planners & Councils (NAEPC) is a multi-disciplinary membership organization comprised of estate planners and estate planning councils for excellence in estate planning.
- National Association of Enrolled Agents (NAEA) is the professional society representing tax preparers who have earned the distinction of “enrolled agent” (EA).
- National Association of Professional Accountants (NAPA) trains, certifies, and licenses bookkeeping students, employees, and professionals.
- National Society of Accountants (NSA) is the association for main street tax and accounting professionals.
- Professional Association of Small Business Accountants (PASBA) represents CPAs, public accountants, and enrolled agents who provide accounting services to small businesses.
Additional Useful Resources
- Accounting from a Cross-Cultural PerspectiveAccounting is both an art and science, which governs the communication and processing of the financial information in an organization. Technological advancement is helping the accountants to monitor financial performance in real time. This presents both opportunities and challenges for the current day organizations and accounting professionals alike.
- Open Education Course: Introduction to AccountingThis course is not directly affiliated with the current OCtech courses, however it is free and does cover some accounting concepts, and may help enhance understanding of accounting concepts if used in addition to the OCtech instruction.
- Textbook: Financial AccountingOpen Education Resource (OER). This is a free online textbook.
Copyright Year: 2016 - Introduction to Financial Mathematics: Concepts and Computational MethodsThis book serves as a primer in financial mathematics with a focus on conceptual understanding of models and problem solving. It includes the mathematical background needed for risk management, such as probability theory, optimization, and the like. The goal of the book is to expose the reader to a wide range of basic problems, some of which emphasize analytic ability, some requiring programming techniques and others focusing on statistical data analysis. In addition, it covers some areas which are outside the scope of mainstream financial mathematics textbooks. For example, it presents marginal account setting by the CCP and systemic risk, and a brief overview of the model risk. Inline exercises and examples are included to help students prepare for exams on this book.
- Principles of Accounting I: Financial AccountingOpen Education Resource (OER) From Openstax: "This book is specifically designed to appeal to both accounting and non-accounting majors, exposing students to the core concepts of accounting in familiar ways to build a strong foundation that can be applied across business fields. Each chapter opens with a relatable real-life scenario for today’s college student. Thoughtfully designed examples are presented throughout each chapter, allowing students to build on emerging accounting knowledge. Concepts are further reinforced through applicable connections to more detailed business processes. Students are immersed in the “why” as well as the “how” aspects of accounting in order to reinforce concepts and promote comprehension over rote memorization."
- Principles of Accounting II: Managerial AccountingOpen Education Resource (OER). The second in the series published by Openstax from Rice University.
Publish Date: Feb 14, 2019 Web Version Last Updated: Sep 02, 2020 - Student Resources for Openstax OER booksThis link includes resources for getting students started with using these free online textbooks, including a "reading and notetaking guide" as well as a "Student Time Management Guide".