Give some of these apps a try:

• Audubon Birds

  An excellent resource for identification, as well as communicating with other bird enthusiasts. Includes an excellent social element that allows users to pinpoint their exact location (if they are using a GPS enabled device), and share said location with the rest of the Audubon community. Some birds have more details than others- the most detailed provide pictures of the birds in all phases of life and both genders. It also has some bird calls labelled such as "alarm" (the sound the species of bird makes when it sees a predator near), "mating call" etc.

• Cornell Lab of Ornithology

  This is an incredible resource for Ornithology students and bird enthusiasts alike. Available as an app (labeled "Merlin Bird ID by Cornell Lab of Ornithology" which can be found in both Android and iOS platforms). This is a similar resource to the Audubon App- the usability is simply dependent upon the individual, and it is up to you to determine which interface works best for you.

• Lifemap- Tree of Life

  Excellent for bio majors, this app is based on scientific classifications (Kingdom, phylum, Class, Family, Genus, Species). Thus far it appears to only be available in Android platform.

• GardenAnswers

  Helps with plant ID, as well as educating about pests and diseases, and even providing advice on plant questions.

• A list of the best apps for ID-ing bird calls

  Because birds make different sounds for different reasons, and of course bird species have unique calls- these are some of the best apps to learn about those bird calls.

• PictureThis- Plant Identification

  A fairly self-explanatory app- if you see a plant that you think is interesting or are otherwise curious about, take a picture of it with your phone- this app aims to identify it for you. Available in both Android and iOS.

• PlanNet Plant Identification

  Helps ID wild plants, as well as having users observe them over time.

• Plant Diary

  Similar to the above, plant diary allows you to log plant growth, needs, etc.

• Plantix- Grow Smart

  Android app to help detect and identify plant diseases, maintain plant health, etc.

• Map of Life

  Lists of animal and plant life that can be found in a selected area, or if GPS is enabled, in the area where you are located at time of use. (One of my personal favorites, although it still needs a lot of work to accurately cover the entire spectrum of animal life including insects, etc.)

• Soil apps

  Determine the type of soil you are working with based on geographic location.

  more...

• Dog Training

  This is an App to help with training your dog.

• The Garden Helper: A website

  An excellent resource with tips on gardening, particularly for dwarf citrus trees.

• Fast Growing Trees: Meyer Lemon Tree Tips

  Website with great tips for Meyer Lemon care and maintenance.

• Feather ID

  There are a lot of methods you can use when trying to identify a bird, from general shape, habitat, song, etc. ...But one that frequently gets overlooked is feather type. This is an excellent government resource for learning about and identifying feathers.

• Physical Geology

  Author: Steven Earle
  Physical Geology is a comprehensive introductory text on the physical aspects of geology, including rocks and minerals, plate tectonics, earthquakes, volcanoes, glaciation, groundwater, streams, coasts, mass wasting, climate change, planetary geology and much more. It has a strong emphasis on examples from western Canada, especially British Columbia, and also includes a chapter devoted to the geological history of western Canada. The book is a collaboration of faculty from Earth Science departments at Universities and Colleges across British Columbia and elsewhere.

  less...

  License:
  Creative Commons Attribution

Earth/GIS Academic Apps

• Sky Map

  Google map which labels constellations, stars, meteor showers, etc., and shows them in outline when phone is held up to the night sky.

• Tides Near Me

  Tracks tides and currents.

• Google Earth

  Incredible highly detailed satellite images of nearly anywhere on earth.

• US Topo Maps Free

  Topographical Maps of the United States

• Soil Biology 

  Authors
  The creatures living in the soil are critical to soil health. They affect soil structure and therefore soil erosion and water availability. They can protect crops from pests and diseases. They are central to decomposition and nutrient cycling and therefore affect plant growth and amounts of pollutants in the environment. Finally, the soil is home to a large proportion of the world's genetic diversity.
  Elaine R. Ingham
  Andrew R. Moldenke, Oregon State University
  Clive A. Edwards, The Ohio State University

  more...

• CK-12 College Human Biology 

  Description
  CK-12's College Human Biology FlexBook® textbook covers cell biology, genetics, evolution, physiology, disease, nutrition, and ecology.
  Difficulty Level
  At Grade
  Author
  Jean Brainard, Ph.D., Rachel Henderson, Ph.D.
  Reviewer
  Laura Branagan, M.S., Arundhati Ghosh, Ph.D., John E. Taylor, Ph.D., (1 more)
  Technicalreviewer
  Angela M. Chapman, Ph.D.

• Concepts of Biology 

  Summary
  Concepts of Biology is designed for the typical introductory biology course for nonmajors, covering standard scope and sequence requirements. The text includes interesting applications and conveys the major themes of biology, with content that is meaningful and easy to understand. The book is designed to demonstrate biology concepts and to promote scientific literacy.
  Publish Date:
  May 18, 2016

• Conservation Biology for All 

  Oxford University Press makes conservation biology textbook by some of the world's most prominent ecologists and conservation biologists available as free download
  
  Conservation Biology for All provides cutting-edge but basic conservation science to a global readership. A series of authoritative chapters have been written by the top names in conservation biology with the principal aim of disseminating cutting-edge conservation knowledge as widely as possible. Important topics such as balancing conversion and human needs, climate change, conservation planning, designing and analyzing conservation research, ecosystem services, endangered species management, extinctions, fire, habitat loss, and invasive species are covered. Numerous text boxes describing additional relevant material or case studies are also included.
  
  The global biodiversity crisis is now unstoppable; what can be saved in the developing world will require an educated constituency in both the developing and developed world. Habitat loss is particularly acute in developing countries, which is of special concern because it tends to be these locations where the greatest species diversity and richest centers of endemism are to be found. Sadly, developing world conservation scientists have found it difficult to access an authoritative textbook, which is particularly ironic since it is these countries where the potential benefits of knowledge application are greatest. There is now an urgent need to educate the next generation of scientists in developing countries, so that they are in a better position to protect their natural resources.
  EDITED BY:
  Navjot S. Sodhi
  Department of Biological Sciences, National University of Singapore AND *Department of
  Organismic and Evolutionary Biology, Harvard University (*Address while the book was prepared)
  Paul R. Ehrlich
  Department of Biology, Stanford University

• Forest Measurements: An Applied Approach 

  Description: This is a forest measurements textbook written for field technicians. Silvicultural applications and illustrations are provided to demonstrate the relevance of the measurements. Special “technique tips” for each skill are intended to help increase data collection accuracy and confidence. These include how to avoid common pitfalls, effective short cuts, and essentials for recording field data correctly. The emphasis is on elementary skills; it is not intended to be a timber cruising guide.

• Environmental Biology 

  Description: Environmental Biology enables students to develop a nuanced understanding of today’s most pressing environmental issues. This text helps students grasp the scientific foundation of these issues so that they can better understand the world around them and their impact upon it. This open textbook covers the most salient environmental issues, from a biological perspective. The text is designed for an introductory-level college science course. Topics include the fundamentals of ecology, biodiversity, pollution, climate change, food production, and human population growth.
  
  Author: Matthew R. Fisher, Editor, Open Oregon

• Biology (2nd Edition) 

  Openstax Textbook. Biology 2e is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology includes rich features that engage students in scientific inquiry, highlight careers in the biological sciences, and offer everyday applications. The book also includes various types of practice and homework questions that help students understand—and apply—key concepts.
  
  
  The 2nd edition has been revised to incorporate clearer, more current, and more dynamic explanations, while maintaining the same organization as the first edition. Art and illustrations have been substantially improved, and the textbook features additional assessments and related resources.

• Microbiology 

  Summary
  Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. The pedagogical features of the text make the material interesting and accessible while maintaining the career-application focus and scientific rigor inherent in the subject matter. Microbiology’s art program enhances students’ understanding of concepts through clear and effective illustrations, diagrams, and photographs.
  
  Microbiology is produced through a collaborative publishing agreement between OpenStax and the American Society for Microbiology Press. The book aligns with the curriculum guidelines of the American Society for Microbiology.

• Chemistry: Atoms First 

  Summary
  Chemistry: Atoms First is a peer-reviewed, openly licensed introductory textbook produced through a collaborative publishing partnership between OpenStax and the University of Connecticut and UConn Undergraduate Student Government Association.
  
  This title is an adaptation of the OpenStax Chemistry text and covers scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. Reordered to fit an atoms first approach, this title introduces atomic and molecular structure much earlier than the traditional approach, delaying the introduction of more abstract material so students have time to acclimate to the study of chemistry. Chemistry: Atoms First also provides a basis for understanding the application of quantitative principles to the chemistry that underlies the entire course.

• Chemistry 

  Summary
  Chemistry is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning.

• Southeastern biology 

  Genre
  Journal
  
  Material Type
  Published material
  
  Publication info
  Burlington, NC :Association of Southeastern Biologists,[2001]-2010.
  Frequency
  Four issues yearly (Jan., Apr., Sept. and Dec.)

• Concepts of Biology (First Canadian edition) 

  In this survey text, directed at those not majoring in biology, we dispel the assumption that a little learning is a dangerous thing. We hope that by skimming the surface of a very deep subject, biology, we may inspire you to drink more deeply and make more informed choices relating to your health, the environment, politics, and the greatest subject that are all of us are entwined in, life itself.

 Sort Link Group  

 Add / Reorder