Contact Information
Library Hours
Monday - Thursday: 8:00am-6:00pm
Friday: 8:00am-1:30pm
Saturday & Sunday: Closed
Contact the Library
Email: library@octech.edu
Phone: (803) 535-1262
Location: Building B, 2nd Floor
For free research consultations with a librarian, use this link:
or contact the library at library@octech.edu
PNR Heading
PNR 110 and NUR 134
PNR 120 Assignments
These websites will be useful for your your cultural awareness assignment.
- Culturally Competent CareThis video discusses how cultural awareness allows the professional to see the entire picture of quality healthcare.
- Culture, Language and Health LiteracyDiscusses why effective health communication is as important to health care as clinical skill.
- Diversity RxGoal is to improve the accessibility and quality of health care for minority, immigrant, and indigenous communities.
- HHS Office of Minority HealthMission is to improve the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will eliminate health disparities.
- Minority NurseThe leading career resource for nurses and the largest dedicated diversity nursing jobs board.
- Think Cultural HealthOffers the latest resources and tools to promote cultural and linguistic competency in health care.
These websites will be useful for your effective communication assignment.
- Communication in Nursing PracticeDiscusses how communication between nurses and patients is essential for the successful outcome of individualized nursing care of each patient.
- Effective Communication in NursingThis article discusses how effective communication with patients and health care professionals can help build relationships, prevent mistakes and provide a higher level of care.
- Effective Interpersonal CommunicationThis article briefly explores Maslow’s hierarchy of human needs, variables that can impact communication, and discusses possible causes and consequences of ineffective communication.
- Nursing Communication SkillsThis video covers the fundamentals of good communication as applied to the nursing profession, and how to ensure that information is uniformly shared across all members of the staff and the patient.
- Effective Communication and Care CoordinationNQF measures and standards serve as a critically important foundation for initiatives to enhance healthcare value, make patient care safer, and achieve better outcomes.
These websites will be useful for your Preventing Infection assignment.
- Basic Infection Prevention TechniquesThis video discusses the chain of infection and basic interventions that can be performed to protect patients and staff.
- Targeting Health-Care Associated InfectionsReviews the evidence-based knowledge on health care–associated infections, highlighting important information for nurses caring for hospitalized patients.
- Practical Guidelines for Infection ControlProvides comprehensive information to health care workers in the prevention and control of transmissible infections.
- Health Care Associated InfectionsGuidelines from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
These websites will help you find information about your nutrition assignment.
- Nutrition.govProvides easy access to vetted food and nutrition information from across the federal government.
- NutritionNutritional information from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- USDA Center for Nutrition, Policy, and PromotionMission is to improve the health of Americans by developing and promoting dietary guidance that links scientific research to the nutrition needs of consumers.
- NIH Office of Dietary SupplementsThe mission of ODS is to strengthen knowledge and understanding of dietary supplements by evaluating scientific information, stimulating and supporting research, disseminating research results, and educating the public to foster an enhanced quality of life and health for the U.S. population.
- Basic NutritionThis video guides students through the basic concepts of healthy eating and the principal nutrients that keep the human anatomy functioning properly.
Use these websites to access information related to nursing and pain management.
- Essential Components of a Pain AssessmentThis video provides the essential components of pain assessment, enabling nurses to provide their patients with optimal pain relief.
- Pain Assessment and ManagementFocuses on evidence supporting the management of acute pain experienced by hospitalized adults.
- Pain Assessment: the cornerstone to optimal pain managementThe WILDA approach to pain assessment offers a concise template for assessment in patients with acute and chronic pain.
- Pharmacological Treatment StrategiesThis video examines the two major groups of pharmacological treatment modalities: non-narcotic and narcotic.
- Physical and Cognitive-Behavioral Approaches: Pain ManagementThis video discusses physical and cognitive-behavioral modalities.
These websites will provide additional information about patient safety.
- Safety: Basic Nursing and Nurse Aide TrainingThis video addresses general safety and body mechanics when abulating patients.
- Patient Safety and QualityProvides some fundamental definitions that link patient safety with health care quality.
- Patient SafetyNQF measures and standards serve as a critically important foundation for initiatives to enhance healthcare value, make patient care safer, and achieve better outcomes.
- Patient Safety: A Shared ResponsibilityThis article describes what a variety of individuals and groups have done, and what yet remains to be done, to promote safe care for all.
- National Patient Safety GoalsThe Joint Commission accredits and certifies nearly 21,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States
- Creating a Safe Healthcare EnvironmentMaintaining a safe environment reflects a level of compassion and vigilance for patient welfare that is as important as any other aspect of competent health care.
These websites will help you find additional information for your documentation assignment.
- Documentation: The Best Defense—Legal Aspects of Nursing PracticeThis video focuses on the legal relevance of the medical record.
- Medical Record DocumentationThis fact sheet is designed to help providers understand how to provide accurate and supportive medical record documentation.
- Fundamentals of Medical Record DocumentationThis discussion will outline some basic principles of sound documentation with an emphasis on those aspects that serve the goals of risk management and liability prevention.
- Health Information PrivacyRight to privacy under HIPAA
Best Bets - Databases
These databases will provide scholarly resources related to medical and surgical nursing.
- CINAHL complete with full text This link opens in a new windowThe world’s most comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, CINAHL provides full text for hundreds of journals indexed in the CINAHL database, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937 and expanded content. Additional material includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. And Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, and much more. Find speedy, simple answers and authoritative, in-depth articles.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowStreaming service providing academic, career-related, and educational videos. Contains a large collection of videos covering a wide range of academic topics.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowA trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowA great resource for Nursing or Health Science research because it is authoritative, peer-reviewed, and complete. Contains 5,000 journals, which contains information about over 12 million journal articles.
- CultureGrams This link opens in a new windowExplore the cultural aspects of many different countries. Contains information on daily life, healthcare, history, family structure and customs.
Best Bets - Books
Use these resources to find scholarly print and electronic books related to medical and surgical nursing.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowA collection of eBooks ranging across all academic subjects. eBook Central gives students and faculty seamless and immediate access to the eBooks they need.
- EBSCO Academic Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of multidisciplinary eBooks representing a wide range of academic subjects.
- Online Catalog (Books)Find books, ebooks, dvds, and videos to stream
- PASCAL DeliversRequest print books from any academic library in South Carolina and receive them in just a few days.
- R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new windoweBooks related to nursing and health sciences fields.