Use SIRS Issues Researcher to locate articles about controversial issues selected from newspapers, magazines, journals, and government publications. It features information about a variety of social, scientific, health, historic, economic, business, and political issues from around the world.
A resource which covers current controversial social subjects, with articles that offer informed, differing views on both sides of each issue. Includes, reference articles, infographics, news articles, images, video, audio, and more.
Provides information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.
Provides access to full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. And Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, and much more. Find speedy, simple answers and authoritative, in-depth articles.
Biography is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Organized into a user-friendly portal experience, it merges Gale's authoritative reference content, including Lives & Perspectives, with periodicals and multimedia.
Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century, History Reference Center is a research database containing full-text journals, magazines, reference books and thousands of primary source documents.
An essential database for theology and philosophy research. It includes hundreds of journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.
An open-source citation tool. There is an available Chrome plug-in, and the personal library available on the cloud makes saving and accessing resources simple. The interface is more user-friendly than Mendeley or Endnote, and it beats Easybib in that all citation formats are free.
Available in multiple formats, including Android, iOS, and online. Mendeley will automatically format your resource in whichever bibliographic standard required- the two most common being MLA and APA. This is a straight-forward approach to citations, and can be especially useful when attempting to arrange an annotated bibliography.
This is a quick way to generate a citation in MLA format without having to download software or create a personal library of resources. There are applications available in both iOS and Android formats, and if this becomes a preferred citation method, there is the option to go for the paid version which provides multiple citation formats including APA.
This is an incredible resource for students. Although the user interface is a bit different from Microsoft, it is still capable of doing all the things that Microsoft Office can do. The difference being that it automatically saves every edit made to any document, it provides real-time group editing (you can have the same document open at the same time as group members, and all of you can make edits). Even if you prefer Microsoft formatting, it's worthwhile to do the main stages of work on your documents here because you never have to worry about losing work due to a power outage or some other unforeseen interruption. It is also an excellent way to save documents, which you may want to have access to at a later date to provide samples of your work, or review information from your courses.
This is an extremely versatile resource. It has the option for paid additional features/cloud storage, but the free features are excellent and provide a smooth integration of information between computer and smartphone/tablet and Cloud. It can be used for day-to-day activities such as shopping lists, as well as for classes- the notebook feature is ideal in that it provides the option of adding "key words" linking to various "pages" in each notebook.
This is a simple but extremely useful application that seamlessly integrates with google drive. If you're reading a book or looking at some type of material that you cannot keep, this app makes it easy to scan the item, tag it with key words, and upload it to google drive.
This application is for Android only. An easy and convenient way to turn your smart phone or tablet into a voice-recorder. It makes recording memos to yourself, or interviews for a paper a snap, and it's user interface is extremely intuitive and straight-forward.
Limited free version, but the app is not expensive- what is available for free is enough to allow the user to determine if it is worth accessing the paid features, or if it's not an item they will use. This app has an extremely simple and intuitive interface, with the option of endless sub-genres. Excellent for brainstorming everything from essay subject ideas to life goals. Available for multiple operating systems, including Android and iOS.
An application (also available in iOS) that teaches the user in simple, step-by-step instructions how to tie knots of every variety. The creator of this application has several other highly rated applications as well, including ones covering Anatomy and Wilderness Survival.