Library Resources
Introduction to Library Resources
The OCtech Library provides access to a wide range of resources for your papers, projects, and assignments.
Library Basics
-The library hours are 8:00am - 6:00pm Monday - Thursday, and 8:00am - 1:30pm Friday. We are not open on the weekends.
-You can contact the library by email (library@octech.edu), phone ((803)-535-1262), chat (on the right side of this page), and in person.
-Library databases help you find academic articles.
-You do NOT have to be in the library to use library websites. You may login while off campus and use online library resources.
-You may check out books and films and videos from the library. We also offer articles and databases, eBooks, subject and course guides online.
-All library databases will generate a citation for you. We don't recommend that you use the citation that the databases generate. It is best if you use that citation to help gather the necessary information required for a citation and then create your own citation. If you need help with citations, please contact the library. We're happy to help with APA and MLA!
-If you want an appointment for research or APA/MLA help via Zoom or Microsoft Teams, fill out the "research consultations" form on the homepage.
Introduction to Library Databases
The OCtech Library provides access to academic articles through its databases. We have a large number of databases, but you can start with the most commonly used ones below.
Accessing Library Databases
Using the OC Tech EBSCO Databases
If you need help using our databases, many of them have a tutorial already loaded underneath them. If you click on the play button located under a video, you'll get a short video that tells you about the database and how to use it. See the example below.
Finding Books in the OCtech Library
The library has physical books that are useful for your classes and for recreational reading. If we don't have what you need at our library, you can request books from any any academic library across South Carolina.
Searching for OC Tech Library Books
Finding eBooks in the OC Tech Library
We have several databases in the library that are primarily eBooks This video will demonstrate how to find and use those databases.
Finding eBooks in the OC Tech Library
Library Employees
| Jason Reed Head Librarian 803.535.1255 reedjt@octech.edu |
Cassidy Carter Librarian 803.535.1296 cartercc@octech.edu |
Timothy Felder Media Resources Consultant 803.535.1362 feldert@octech.edu |
Don't hesitate to contact one of us if you need help!
Library Resources Quiz
Library Policies
- Library Policies Updated 10-15-24Library Policies in a PDF format. Updated 10-15-24.
Library Mission Statement
The mission of the OCtech Library is to support the purposes and programs of the Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical, as detailed in the College mission statement, with particular emphasis in the areas of meeting the community's need for a literate and technically-competent workforce and of providing students with the knowledge, skills and attitudes in the areas of oral and written communication, problem-solving, use of cutting-edge technology, and development of interpersonal skills for workplace competencies or for transfer to other institutions of higher learning.