Library Hours
Monday - Thursday: 8:00am-6:00pm
Friday: 8:00am-1:30pm
Saturday & Sunday: Closed
Contact the Library
Email: library@octech.edu
Phone: (803) 535-1262
Location: Building B, 2nd Floor
For free research consultations with a librarian, use this link:
or contact the library at library@octech.edu
Physical Therapy
Use the tabs below to find resources for your physical therapy papers and projects.
These databases are most useful for physical therapy students.
- 3D Human Anatomy and Physiology This link opens in a new window3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection slides you can label, clinical case studies, the impact of aging on each body systems, pronunciation guide, quizzes and much more.
- AltHealth Watch This link opens in a new windowA full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.
- CINAHL complete with full text This link opens in a new windowThe world’s most comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, CINAHL provides full text for hundreds of journals indexed in the CINAHL database, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937 and expanded content. Additional material includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowA trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowA great resource for Nursing or Health Science research because it is authoritative, peer-reviewed, and complete. Contains 5,000 journals, which contains information about over 12 million journal articles.
Try these databases if you are not sure where to start
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. And Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, and much more. Find speedy, simple answers and authoritative, in-depth articles.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowA collection of eBooks ranging across all academic subjects. eBook Central gives students and faculty seamless and immediate access to the eBooks they need.
- EBSCO Academic Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of multidisciplinary eBooks representing a wide range of academic subjects.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowStreaming service providing academic, career-related, and educational videos. Contains a large collection of videos covering a wide range of academic topics.
- Hoopla This link opens in a new windowHoopla is allows you to borrow movies, music, audiobooks, eBooks, comics and TV shows to enjoy on your computer, tablet, or phone – and even your TV!
Use these resources to find print books at OCtech and libraries across South Carolina.
- Online Catalog (Books)Find books, ebooks, dvds, and videos to stream
- PASCAL DeliversRequest print books from any academic library in South Carolina and receive them in just a few days.
As an OCtech student, you can also visit any academic library in south carolina and check out a book.
Use these databases to find ebooks. You can search, save, or email, or print out any information from our ebooks. They will also provide the APA or MLA citation for you.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowA collection of eBooks ranging across all academic subjects. eBook Central gives students and faculty seamless and immediate access to the eBooks they need.
- EBSCO Academic Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of multidisciplinary eBooks representing a wide range of academic subjects.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. And Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, and much more. Find speedy, simple answers and authoritative, in-depth articles.
- Oxford UPSO Psychology This link opens in a new window335 scholarly quality scholarly ebooks on the subject of psychology.
- R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new windoweBooks related to nursing and health sciences fields.
- Salem Press This link opens in a new windowReference books covering health, literature, and history.
Give some of these apps a try:
- PEDroA free database of over 33,000 trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
- Physical Therapist Assistants and AidesDescribes the work, requirements, and benefits of a career in physical therapy. (from the Occupational Outlook Handbook)
- South Carolina Chapter of APTAThe South Carolina Chapter of the American Physical Therapy Association (SCAPTA) is the only professional organization representing physical therapists and physical therapist assistants in South Carolina.