Databases with Free or Partially Free Content
Mixed Resource Types
- American Time Use SurveyThis is an incredible resource that is a compilation of data covering all sorts of aspects of American life- if you wonder how much time the average American spends watching TV, or eating, or the average amount of sleep an American gets... this is the place to go!
- Internet ArchiveAn on-going project to keep an archive of all that is available on the internet- while some items require membership to a particular library or payment, it is possible to filter results to only those that are open-source. This archive contains a wide variety of materials- ebooks, computer software, images, maps, movies, and more.
- OverdriveApps available in iOS and Android. This is a method to connect to your public library and access its electronic materials.
- HooplaOC Tech has a subscription to this service, which means students only need to provide their ID number when creating an account, and then they can borrow five items/month.
- World Wildlife FoundationTeaching Resources: WWF has begun and open-source virtual classroom, which includes "Join Wild Classroom and check out a growing library of free animal and nature-related teacher guides, fact sheets, activity plans, and posters to help kids explore and learn about the world around them."
- GENOCIDE MEMORIAL PROJECTGenocide Memorials Around the World, Student-Generated List of Memorials to Genocide Victims Around the World
- BC Campus Open Ed Completed ProjectsOER courses, books, etc.
eBooks
- OpenstaxFree online textbooks (with integrated videos and audio in chapters) covering all of the basic introductory college courses.
- Google BooksA mix of free and paid ebook material.
- Amazon KindleThe Kindle store provides a mix of free, discounted, and paid ebook materials.
- CalibreAn open-source software to help organize your personal ebook library. There are also connecting apps in Android and iOS called "Calibre Companion"
- eReader PrestigioA generally reliable application that can open essentially every ebook format, as well as a great number of audiobook formats.
- Good ReadsA large community of users reviewing books and making recommendations based upon the books that you indicate you enjoyed. There are applications available in both Android and iOS platforms.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowA collection of eBooks ranging across all academic subjects. eBook Central gives students and faculty seamless and immediate access to the eBooks they need.
- HooplaHoopla is a web and mobile library that gives OC Tech students, faculty, and staff access to eBooks, audiobooks, TV shows, movies, and music. You must use your student ID number to access Hoopla.
...More on Open Education Resources (OERs) and Copyright
- Achieve Open Educational Resource (OER) RubricsThis site includes a handbook, videos and set of presentation slides that give instructions on how to apply the rubrics and use the online tool, as well as examples of what different ratings mean under each rubric. The information included in in the handbook, videos and slides is meant to mirror one another, with specific examples included in the handbook and slides.
- Copyright Tools (ALA)Tools used to educate librarians, educators and others about copyright.
- Copyright in Higher Education Elements Resources (CHEER)Brings together a variety of resources on copyright in higher education to improve programming and outreach at your home institution.
- MIT Research Guide on Open Education ResourcesThis is a very straight-forward guide to a large number of OER databases. MIT is on the forefront of the OER movement, but this guide is pleasingly friendly for those new to the OER movement who just want some time to browse on their own.
- Virginia Tech's OER Library ToolboxIn-depth OER guide. Lots of information, and especially good for updates to the OER world.