3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection slides you can label, clinical case studies, the impact of aging on each body systems, pronunciation guide, quizzes and much more.
A full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.
The world’s most comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, CINAHL provides full text for hundreds of journals indexed in the CINAHL database, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937 and expanded content. Additional material includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
Features expertly researched, detailed content on more than 140 industries and more than 1,000 professions, with current information on earnings, employment trends, job requirements, and essential skills. Learn more about a career or take a career interest assessment to find a career that might suit you.
A great resource for Nursing or Health Science research because it is authoritative, peer-reviewed, and complete. Contains 5,000 journals, which contains information about over 12 million journal articles.
Mometrix eLibrary is a database of test preparation materials for career and professional certifications. Includes study materials for over 1,800 different exams covering subject areas such as nursing, teaching, construction, social work, finance, med-tech, and law.
Provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs. Full text access to over 330 trade and industry-related periodicals.
Try these databases if you are not sure where to start
Provides information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.
Provides access to full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. And Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, and much more. Find speedy, simple answers and authoritative, in-depth articles.
By the American Red Cross, particularly convenient for nurses and medical practitioners. “...[a] mobile version of the Compendium of Transfusion Practice Guidelines, a review of blood usage guidelines published in English in peer-reviewed journals from the Red Cross” -Google Play Store summary.
Another anatomy-learning tool, this app is available in both iOS and Android. This link goes directly to the Google Play Android download, but you can visit the creators website and download the iOS version: http://www.susasoftx.com/
This is a comprehensive ECG library. The site includes facts, definitions, examples, case studies of multiple ECG readings. This is an excellent resource for students studying nursing and medicine at all levels. It is also a good review site for practitioners that want to improve their ECG reading skills.
This learning module presents the proper technique and common errors associated with assessment of blood pressure. The information is targeted at new learners in the clinical and health sciences and can serve as a review for current practitioners. The program includes audio of blood pressure sounds, interactive simulations, and self-assessment tools.
This provides text description and audio examples of various heart and breath sounds. The sounds are broken up into categories such as systolic and diastolic. The lung sounds provide examples of cackles and wheezes.
This website allows visitors to see and hear extensive digital recordings of actual patients, with high-resolution animations, ECGs and explanatory text. The Heart Sounds Tutorial focuses on the four common valvar lesions in the left heart including aortic regurgitation, aortic stenosis, mitral regurgitation, and mitral stenosis. In this tutorial, you will be able to examine actual patients with these lesions. By moving a virtual stethoscope over the chest, you can listen to the heart at several listening locations, while at the same time, you will see a video of the patient's pulsations in the neck, precordium, or extremities. The findings are explained with text, as well as illustrated with phonocardiograms, hemodynamic data, and computer animations. An interactive quiz will test your ability to identify correctly the first and second heart sounds, extra sounds, diastolic and systolic murmurs in recordings of actual patients, using a computer animation of the carotid pulse for timing. The SVT Tutorial is an online program that uses computer animations to explain arrhythmia mechanisms and their associated electrocardiographic findings for the following examples including AV Node Reentry, AV Reentry, Atrial Tachycardia, Atrial Flutter, and Atrial Fibrillation.
CSO is a project aimed at providing interactive online videos demonstrating core procedural skills common to a wide range of medical and health-based courses. The clinical skills videos on this site have been created at the 'lowest common denominator' level for a host of medical and healthcare related disciplines with a view to share with the wider community. The content has been created and peer-reviewed by a multi-professional team so that it is applicable, with little or no change, to a variety of health-based courses. St George s, University of London, have taken extreme care in preparing the information on this site but please be aware that there maybe slight variations in the procedures, shown in the videos, from institution to institution depending on policies and equipment used. All content on this website (including text, images, videos, and any other original works), unless otherwise stated, is already licensed under a Creative Commons deed. CSO contains videos which are only suitable for viewing by adults of at least 18 years of age, or 21 years of age depending on your location. Please note this site is also registered with the Internet Content Rating Association (ICRA).
Explores factors associated with disease emergence & re-emergence & considers the human activities that can increase or decrease the likelihood of outbreaks of infectious diseases. Students play the role of epidemiologists looking for clues to solve the case of a mystery disease, watch simulations of herd immunity & the impact of vaccination programs, & assign limited funds to three proposals submitted to address a major infectious disease. (NIH) The target audience is grades 9-12.
An interactive multimedia tutorial for healthcare professionals wishing to refresh math skills and learn how to calculate medication dosages and intravenous (IV) rates. The tutorial has three modules. Each module has includes a quiz. The first module covers information about fractions, decimals, ratios, proportions, and percentage. The second module covers information about conversions, medication administration, and dosage calculation. The third module covers information about intraveneous infusions including tubing calculation and intraveneous flow rates. Key words: Medication calculation; Intravenous flow rate calculation; Mathematics principles
Medication calculation, Dosages, Medications
The site is an interactive game.The game shows a variety of people involved in halting an outbreak and only the intern can save them! The players receive case files, maps, visit locations, take samples and draw conclusions. Players not only try to solve the case, but learn about public health careers.A teachers guide and related links are included.
Key words: Public Health, Epidemiology,case study, health sciences careers.
Taken from the "About NNU" Page: "National Nurses United, with more than 150,000 members nationwide, is the largest union and professional association of registered nurses in U.S. history.
NNU was founded in 2009 unifying three of the most active, progressive organizations in the U.S.—and the major voices of unionized nurses—in the California Nurses Association/National Nurses Organizing Committee, United American Nurses, and Massachusetts Nurses Association. NNU's executive director is Bonnie Castillo, RN and its presidents are Deborah Burger, Zenei Cortez, and Jean Ross."
From the "About ENA" web page: "About ENA
The ENA mission is to advance excellence in emergency nursing. Our vision is to be the premier organization for the emergency nursing community worldwide.
Derived from the vision of ENA’s co-founders Judith Kelleher and Anita Dorr, our priorities are guided by these values and beliefs. ENA believes …
In the inclusion and contributions of nursing, in collaboration with healthcare partners worldwide, to explore innovative solutions to the challenges of emergency care delivery.
Compassion is an essential element of the emergency nursing profession.
We should embrace inclusion, diversity and mutual respect in all interactions and initiatives to promote the essential value of different perspectives and experiences within emergency nursing.
In a team-based delivery of resources that meet the highest quality standards of excellence for patients and emergency nurses.
Emergency care evolves through lifelong learning and a culture of inquiry for the discovery and integration of evidence-based research into emergency nursing practice.
Our Code of Ethics establishes and encourages adherence to principles of honesty and integrity.
The spirit of philanthropy allows the advancement of the profession of emergency nursing and improves the lives of patients throughout the world.
We place the highest value on our members for their contributions to the care of patients and their families, the emergency nursing profession, and our organization."
From the "About NASN" web page: "Definition of School Nursing
School nursing, a specialized practice of nursing, protects and promotes student health, facilitates optimal development, and advances academic success. School nurses, grounded in ethical and evidence-based practice, are the leaders who bridge health care and education, provide care coordination, advocate for quality student-centered care, and collaborate to design systems that allow individuals and communities to develop their full potential. Adopted by the NASN Board of Directors February 2017."
From ANA "FAQ" web page: "The American Nurses Association (ANA) is the premier organization representing the interests of the nation's 4 million registered nurses. ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting a safe and ethical work environment, bolstering the health and wellness of nurses, and advocating on health care issues that affect nurses and the public. ANA is at the forefront of improving the quality of health care for all."