LibGuides: Nursing: General Resources: NUR 111

NUR 111 - Common Health Problems

Best Bets - Databases

These databases provide scholarly articles related to the application of nursing theory.

AHFS Consumer Medication Information This link opens in a new window
A standard for patient drug information and includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written for consumers
CINAHL complete with full text This link opens in a new window
The world’s most comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, CINAHL provides full text for hundreds of journals indexed in the CINAHL database, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937 and expanded content. Additional material includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. And Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, and much more. Find speedy, simple answers and authoritative, in-depth articles.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming service providing academic, career-related, and educational videos. Contains a large collection of videos covering a wide range of academic topics.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
A trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
A great resource for Nursing or Health Science research because it is authoritative, peer-reviewed, and complete. Contains 5,000 journals, which contains information about over 12 million journal articles.

Best Bets - Books

Use these book resources to find scholarly information related to the application of nursing theory.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of eBooks ranging across all academic subjects. eBook Central gives students and faculty seamless and immediate access to the eBooks they need.
EBSCO Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of multidisciplinary eBooks representing a wide range of academic subjects.

Online Catalog (Books)
Find books, ebooks, dvds, and videos to stream
PASCAL Delivers
Request print books from any academic library in South Carolina and receive them in just a few days.

R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
eBooks related to nursing and health sciences fields.
Salem Press This link opens in a new window
Reference books covering health, literature, and history.

Websites

These websites provide trustworthy information related to the application of nursing theory.

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
The AND is committed to improving the nation's health and advancing the profession of dietetics through research, education and advocacy.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Focuses on evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable.
American Heart Association
The AHA's mission is to build healthier lives, free of cardiovascular diseases and stroke.
American Nurses Association
The American Nurses Association (ANA) is the premier organization representing the interests of the nation's 3.6 million registered nurses.
Cultlure, Language, and Health Literacy
Focus is on providing health care to people who are geographically isolated, economically or medically vulnerable.
International Food Information Council Foundation
Dedicated to communicating science-based information on health, nutrition and food safety for the public good.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
The goal of HHS is to enhance and protect the health and well-being of all Americans.