Library Hours
Monday - Thursday: 8:00am-6:00pm
Friday: 8:00am-1:30pm
Saturday & Sunday: Closed
Contact the Library
Email: library@octech.edu
Phone: (803) 535-1262
Location: Building B, 2nd Floor
For free research consultations with a librarian, use this link:
or contact the library at library@octech.edu
Library Blog
Open Journal and Article Databases
ArtsJournal (CC-licensed)
ArtsJournal is an online resource of art and culture articles from a variety of sources- including blogs, newspapers, magazines, and other publications.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) (Item-Specific Licenses)
DOAJ is a directory of over 9,000 journals and more than 1.5 million articles from 133 countries. In order to be accepted, the journals and articles must be peer-reviewed or editorial quality.
In Tech- Open Access Publisher (Open Access)
In Tech publishes more than 2,300 open textbooks and 6 journals in a variety of subjects that fall under the heading of science, technology, and medicine.
MedEd Portal (Site-Specific Permissions)
MedEd provides access to online, peer reviewed publications for those in the medical field.
MERLOT II (Site-Specific Permissions)
MERLOT II is a program of the California State University, in partnership with educational institutions, professional societies, and industries to provide a database of more than 40,000 materials related to a wide variety of subjects. These materials come in a variety of formats, including animations and simulations, assignments and quizzes/tests, case studies and reference materials, and open textbooks, journals, and articles. The intent is for these OER materials to be used by educators and students to enhance the learning experience.
Open CRS (Public Domain)
Open CRS is a search engine that links directly to reports made by the Congressional Research Service, a think tank that provides information on a variety of topics related to political events. These reports are made available in the public domain by Congress and this database, in addition to a number of others, seeks to gather as many of these documents as possible into one location.
Public Library of Science (PLOS) (CC BY)
PLOS is an online database containing scientific journals related to a variety of topics, all of which are open access. They are able to be freely distributed, altered and built upon- even commercially, so long as the original source is credited.