Open Educational Resources

AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use. AMSER is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) as part of the National Science Digital Library, and is being created by a team of project partners led by Internet Scout.

Bookboon.com contains free eBooks and textbooks that can be downloaded as a pdf, no registration needed.

College Open Textbooks (COT) focuses on textbooks for lower division classes. COT is not a repository of open textbooks; our listings point to textbooks on many repositories.

The Global Text Project is a joint initiative between the Terry College of Business at the University of Georgia and The Daniels College of Business of the University of Denver to publish eBooks that can be accessed by all, especially the developing world.

InTech publishes more than 2,300 open textbooks and 6 journals in a variety of subjects that fall under the heading of science, technology, and medicine.

OCW offers open materials and images from more than a hundred courses developed by the faculty of JHSPH, the world’s foremost institution of public health education and research. OCW is an expression of our mission to provide learning opportunities and teaching resources to all who pursue improvement of health and prevention of disease around the world.

MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.

Bookshelf, the books division of the NLM Literature Archive (LitArch) at the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), is an online searchable collection of books, reports, databases, and other scholarly literature in biology, medicine, and the life sciences.

This website features academic content created by the University of Michigan community that you can use in your own research, teaching or learning experiences.

Florida’s digital repository for instructional resources, which includes a collection of open textbooks on a variety of subjects.

In this course we will be exploring how to live a full engaged, productive, and satisfied life with dementia; in your own home and community!

If you would like to earn a “Living well with dementia” completion badge you must complete the following 3 activities:

How Person Centred am I? (use reply box)
Healthy Brain quiz (create an account by providing email address)
Signs and Symptoms quiz

A free, online educational program accredited for nurses. This e-learning program is grounded in the HHS Office of Minority Health's National Standards for Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) in Health and Health Care.

The program is intended to support the delivery of culturally and linguistically competent services and the implementation of the National CLAS Standards.

Description:
Introduces the study of aging, its implications for individuals, families, and society, and the background for health policy related to older persons. Presents an overview on aging from different perspectives: demography, biology, epidemiology of diseases, physical and mental disorders, functional capacity and disability, health services, federal and state health policies, social aspects of aging, and ethical issues in the care of older individuals.

Course Learning Objectives

To introduce students to a range of health issues that older persons, their health providers, and society face in the next decade. These include the demographics and biology of aging, an understanding of the basic health and mental health issues, and policy decisions that state and federal government will need to solve related to these issues.

Description:
Introduces and examines the basic prinicples which guide growth and development and the health of individuals across the lifespan, from the prenatal period through senescence. Presents methodological, conceptual and substantive issues necessary for understanding and evaluating empirically based information about growth, development and health at different stages of life and from different academic perspectives. Course covers several themes, including contributions of biological and environmental factors to health and human development, measuring the health of individuals in communities, understanding determinants and consequences of health and development across the lifespan, measuring population health and assessing the implications of health disparities.

This is a module framework. It can be viewed online for downloaded as a zip file.

As taught in Spring Semester 2010.

This module is taught on the Diploma/BSc in Nursing and covers an introduction to evidence-based practice; the nature of evidence; an introduction to the research process; reflective thinking and writing; portfolio development skills; searching/accessing information/literature; summarising literature; referencing literature sources; reviewing literature; an introduction to law and ethics and their links with evidence-based practice; an introduction to accountability and evidence-based practice.

Suitable for: Undergraduate year one students


School of Nursing, Midwifery & Physiotherapy

The School operates from education centres across Derbyshire, Lincolnshire and Nottinghamshire providing pre-registration, post-registration, degree and higher degree courses. Learning in practice occurs in acute and community settings within local NHS Health Care Trusts and across the voluntary and social service sectors.

Research within the school focuses on supportive and palliative care; education and health informatics; mental health; and child and maternal health. The University received the best possible outcome in all categories within the Major Review of healthcare programmes which took place in 2006

Information on Low Cost Mapping Tools for Community-based OrganizationsAbout Community Health Maps
Community Health Maps (CHM) provides information about low/no cost mapping tools. It was developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) with a focus on increasing capacity within under-served and other at-risk communities. The CHM workflow can also be used by individuals and organizations needing to collect, analyze, and visualize mapping data.

Community Health Maps is designed to facilitate the use of GIS mapping by those who understand the potential of mapping for public health but think they can’t afford it, are overwhelmed by the technology and/or are simply too busy to pursue it. It can also support those already engaged in mapping and enhance their community mapping initiatives, even if they are using other tools. The blog is a mixture of mapping apps/software reviews, best practices, and the experiences of those who have used the Community Health Maps workflow.

Community Health Maps is a collaborative effort of the National Library of Medicine, the Center for Public Service Communications, and Bird’s Eye View.

Everything provided on this site is in the public domain and free of charge. The National Library of Medicine does not endorse any particular product, service, or developer.

Community Health Maps is moderated by Kurt Menke, a Certified GIS Professional (GISP) who has worked with public health applications of GIS for more than fifteen years.

The NLM is full of excellent resources and information on current research. It covers an enormous range of material, and is something that every health professional should have familiarity with, in the same sense that health professionals should be subscribed to particular industry-related publications.